Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery

Oral and maxillofacial surgeons specialise in the oral and maxillofacial regions of the head and neck. They diagnose and treat problem wisdom teeth, facial pain, and misaligned jaws. Moreover, they treat accident victims for facial injuries, carry out reconstructive and dental implant surgery, treat tumours, and developmental craniofacial abnormalities of the jaws or facial regions.

Oral and maxillofacial surgeons work alongside other specialists such as orthodontists, prosthodontists, radiologists, pathologists, oncologists, ENT surgeons, neurosurgeons, and plastic surgeons.

The following types of surgery are performed by oral and maxillofacial surgeons:

  • Preprosthetic surgery (bone augmentation)
  • Oral and dentoalveolar surgery for the removal of impacted and buried teeth, cysts
  • Dental implant surgery and bone grafting, to replace missing teeth or stabilize dentures; rehabilitation of patients having undergone surgery for tumours, to retain facial prostheses
  • Orthognathic surgery for dentofacial deformities
  • Facial trauma surgery for facial bone fractures and related soft tissue injuries
  • Reconstructive surgery of the face
  • Cleft lip and palate surgery
  • Congenital craniofacial deformities
  • Facial plastic surgery such as rhinoplasty, rhytidectomy, blepharoplasty, facial implants
  • Temporomandibular joint disorder (TMJD)
  • Snoring and sleep apnea correction surgery
  • Tumour and cancer surgery.

Please refer to the Handbook for Accredited Training in OMS for further information.


The RACDS Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (OMS) Training Program has been jointly accredited by the Australian Medical Council (AMC), the Medical Council of New Zealand (MCNZ), the Australian Dental Council (ADC) and the Dental Council of New Zealand (DCNZ) to deliver specialist medical and dental education, training and continuing professional development programs.

The AMC and the MCNZ have granted accreditation for five years until 31 March 2023, subject to satisfying monitoring requirements including progress reports and addressing accreditation conditions.

Furthermore, the ADC and DCNZ have granted accreditation for a period of five years until 31 December 2022, subject to satisfying monitoring requirements including progress reports and addressing accreditation conditions