Purpose and role of Regional Committees

  1. Hold and conduct at least one scientific meeting annually
  2. To support the Convocation Organising Committee with local arrangements as required, if Convocation is being held within the region
  3. Assist the Board in arranging special teaching courses
  4. Foster and arrange suitable gatherings for scientific and social purposes
  5. Candidate Advisors provide support to GDP candidates on the pathway to fellowship.

One Board Member is designated to provide a strong line of communication from Regional Committees to the Board, enabling close collaboration on education and scientific activities.

In addition, each elected Board Member of the College is an ex-officio member of the Regional Committee of their region of residence.

Currently there are eight (8) Regional Committees – Queensland, New South Wales/Australian Capital Territory, Victoria/Tasmania, South Australia/Northern Territory, Western Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong and International.

In addition, the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Training Program is advised by Regional Surgical Committees (RSC) that have been established throughout Australia and New Zealand.

Purpose and role of the Regional Surgical Committee

  1. Nominate the Director of Training for each region
  2. Organise and deliver local training events that enable trainees to gain an understanding of the discipline of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery.

The program of events for each Regional or Regional Surgical Committee is included in Upcoming Events.

The members of Regional Committees are appointed for two years. Committees comprise up to eight members, including the Office Bearers of Chairman, Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer. An additional key member of the Committee is the Student Advisor (Director of Training for OMS), who can assist trainees or candidates with questions regarding any of the College training programs or requirements.

Key members of the OMS Regional Surgical Committees please refer to the OMS Handbook

Committee Members


RoleCommittee MemberEmail
Hong Kong
ChairDr Jerome YuFor all enquiries, please email infohk@racds.org
Candidate AdvisorDr Siu-fai Leung
ChairDr David SykesFor all enquiries, please email infonsw@racds.org
Candidate Advisor (Primary Exams)Dr Zanab Malik
Candidate Advisor (Fellowship Exams)Dr (Faustino) Tino Mercado
New Zealand
ChairDr David AntunovicFor all enquiries, please email infonz@racds.org
Candidate AdvisorDr Sheng Zhang
ChairDr Simon FranksFor all enquiries, please email infoqld@racds.org
Candidate AdvisorDr Marina Kamel
Candidate AdvisorDr Ramya Kiran
ChairDr Greg MillerFor all enquiries, please email infosa@racds.org
Candidate Advisor (Primary)Dr Alan Mann
ChairDr Nigel SouterFor all enquiries, please email infovt@racds.org
Candidate AdvisorDr Sarah Chin
ChairDr John WatsonFor all enquiries, please email infowa@racds.org
Candidate Advisor (Fellowship Exams)Dr Mohammed El-Hakim
Candidate Advisor (Primary Exams)Dr Vincenzo Figliomeni
Candidate Advisor (MRACDS)Dr Janina Christoforou
ChairDr Hans Prakash SathasivamFor all enquiries, please email infointer@racds.org
Candidate AdvisorDr Nur Diyanah AB Wahid
Candidate AdvisorDr Matheel Zohair Yousif Alwawas